An increasing number of European countries have it Travel ban from the UK Trying to stop A mutated strain of coronavirus Crossing their borders. This is what we know so far:

Which European countries have banned flights from the UK?

France, GermanyItaly, Belgium, Austria, Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland and the Netherlands announced that they would stop flights from the United Kingdom.

The Czech Republic has imposed stricter quarantine measures on those coming from Britain.

When does the flight ban start and how long will it last?

The Dutch ban went into effect on Sunday morning and is set to last at least the rest of the year.

Belgian Prime Minister Alexandre de Crowe has issued a 24-hour flight ban starting at midnight Sunday.

Italian Health Minister Roberto Speranza said that an order was signed on Sunday banning flights from Britain and preventing anyone who has been to the UK in the last 14 days of entry. Italy. The order bans air travel until January 6.

Austria and Italy have not specified when their plans to halt flights from the United Kingdom will be launched.

Germany said it will ban flights from the UK from midnight, Berlin time, on Sunday, as the German news agency DPA said it will remain in effect until at least December 31.

France has banned all flights from the UK for 48 hours from midnight Sunday.

Bulgaria said it has temporarily suspended flights to and from the UK, starting at midnight Sunday.

What is the situation with Ireland?

The Irish government said on Sunday it had imposed a 48-hour ban on flights from Britain to Ireland.

See also  Rita Ora publishes an apology and pays a £ 10,000 fine after having an 'unjustified' birthday party with 30 friends

The restrictions will take effect at midnight Sunday.

Is anyone exempt?

Irish Transport Minister Eamon Ryan said the ferries would continue to operate for freight between Britain and Ireland.

“We need shipments to arrive to keep our shelves full but other passengers will be restricted,” he said.

The German government said exemptions from the flight ban include repatriation flights and their crews, mail and cargo or empty flights, and airplanes carrying medical personnel.

The Bulgarian Embassy in London said on its website that Bulgarian citizens and their families, as well as permanent residents of Bulgaria, were able to enter the country under quarantine for 10 days if they traveled through a different country or entered Bulgaria on land or by sea.

What are governments doing?

that The EU crisis meeting has been called on Monday To discuss the coordination of the Coronavirus response among the 27 member states.

The UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) considers travel restrictions imposed on other countries a matter of their governments.

It was previously understood that it was in contact with international partners and was monitoring the situation closely.

But late Sunday night, Number 10 revealed that Prime Minister Boris Johnson was set to chair the British government’s Cobra Civil Emergency Committee meeting on Monday.

Why does this happen?

A mutant strain of Corona virus sweeping London and southeast England has prompted European Union countries to start restricting flights from the United Kingdom.

De Crowe said that the flight ban in Belgium was “a matter of precaution,” adding: “There are a lot of questions about this new boom and if it did not already exist on the mainland.”

See also  British Isles: Cancel Holiday Rules - Poland and the World

The German embassy in London tweeted that the flight restrictions were the result of a “mutation of the coronavirus”.

On Saturday, Johnson said there was “no evidence” that the new variant “causes more severe disease or a higher mortality rate” but that “appears to transmit much more easily”.

He said the new strain could be up to 70% more transmissible than the old virus.

Do international train and ferry connections work?

Eurostar said it was unable to run trains from London to Paris, Brussels, Lille or Amsterdam on Monday or Tuesday.

Trains to London from Paris will continue to operate, as the railway company said it plans to resume services to and from the United Kingdom on Wednesday.

Eurotunnel said the last shuttle service to leave for France will depart at 9.34pm, with access to its UK location blocked from 10pm.

The ferry terminal in Dover was closed to “all accompanying traffic leaving the UK” after France moved to close its borders.

Am I allowed to travel abroad from England?

If you live in one of the newly established Tier 4 areas, which includes London and parts of southeast and eastern England, you should not travel abroad.

Government guidelines state that people cannot travel internationally unless you are “legally permitted to do so, for example, because it is for work.”

People across England are advised to stay local and avoid traveling outside of their own area.

For those who live in Tier 1, 2 and 3 zones, the guidelines advise potential international travelers to “carefully consider whether they should travel abroad”.

See also  Saudi Arabia announced the goal of climate neutrality. The date has been given

She advises them to “follow the rules in their area” and consider sanitation advice in the country they plan to visit.

Anyone who lives outside of Level 4 can travel to or through the Tier 4 area to travel abroad if needed.

People are also cautioned against reviewing travel advice from the FCDO and the rules in place at their destination. For many countries, the FCDO advises against “all but essential travel”.

Do countries outside Europe prevent those coming from the UK?

Yeah. The Islamic Republic of Iran News Agency reported that the Iranian Ministry of Health has ordered the suspension of flights from Britain for a period of two weeks. Israel said it was preventing entry to foreigners from Britain, Denmark and South Africa. Kuwait has added Britain to the list of “high risk” countries and banned flights. The President of El Salvador, Neb Buckley, said on Twitter that anyone who has been in Britain or South Africa during the past 30 days will not be permitted to enter the country.

Turkey and Morocco announced that they will suspend flights from the United Kingdom, while the official Saudi Press Agency stated that Saudi Arabia will also suspend international flights for one week. There are unconfirmed reports that Canada has banned flights from Britain as well.

With the Press Association and Agence France-Presse