Thanks to the European Union, peace, stability and prosperity have been achieved for more than half a century; The standard of living of European citizens has improved and a single European currency has been introduced: the euro. Established initially, the Economic Union has, over time, covered policies ranging from climate and environment to foreign relations and security.

The European Union is a unique economic and political partnership between 27 European countries. This partnership began in 1958, when Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands formed the European Economic Community (EEC). Since then, 22 other countries have joined the above-mentioned countries, which since 1993 jointly formed the European Union. The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union at the end of 2020.

The European Union is based on the rule of law. This means that all its actions are based on treaties voluntarily and democratically adopted by all member states.

Illustration: “Europa unita per il progresso e per la slow” – Italian poster marking the signing of the Treaties of Rome founding the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) on March 25, 1957.

See also  White House: The claim that the United States is behind the protests in Kazakhstan is a Russian disinformation