Lewis Hamilton, seven-time Formula 1 world champion, was awarded the Sports Personality of the Year award for 2020 in a BBC poll.

He won his first such award in 2014, when he became F1 Champion for the second time. Now he has seven wins in the prestigious session.

This time he was ahead of Jordan Henderson (soccer) and Holly Doyle (equestrian) in the vote. Tyson Fury (boxing), Ronnie O’Sullivan (Snooker) and Stuart Broad (cricket) were also among the best.

Adel Hamilton, 35, set the record with seven wins in Formula 1 by winning legendary German Michael Schumacher. The Briton from Mercedes has already won 95 Grand Prix races, thanks to which he becomes the most successful contender in Formula One history.

Fellow Formula 1 drivers Nigel Mansell (1986 and 1992) and Damon Hill (1994 and 1996) were also twice named BBC Sports Personality of the Year. Stirling Moss (1961) and Jackie Stewart (1973) also won.

Hamilton, in turn, came second in 2018 and 2019.

And the title of coach of the year went to the German coach of Liverpool Jurgen Klopp. Henderson has been playing for the Reds for several seasons. Liverpool won the England championship last season after a 30-year hiatus and Klopp’s team were named Team of the Year in a BBC poll.

PAP / Adriana C.

See also  Zinedine Zidane offers a transitional push to Arsenal after refusing to pay attention to Hussam Al-Awar