The Omikron coronavirus variant has been detected in at least 15 US states, but the delta variety still accounts for 99.9 percent of the total. Rochelle Walinsky, head of the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), reported Sunday that there are Covid-19 cases in the country.

“We have discovered dozens of cases and are following them closely,” Walinsky told ABC News. “Every day we hear about new suspicions of (Omicron) infection, so that number is likely to rise.”

The Omikron variant has so far been identified in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, and Hawaii. Louisiana authorities also reported a possible discovery of the variant, and the person identified in New Jersey was recently in Georgia.

Director Walinsky also mentioned it with 99.9 percent. In the US, the delta variant is still identical.

Commenting on the restrictions imposed as a result of the detection of the new SARS-CoV-2 variant, Dr. Anthony Fauci’s chief medical advisor told the US President on Sunday that the ban on visitors from eight African countries would be lifted “due to time.”

Fauci acknowledged that the US government is aware of the consequences of suspending flights and is constantly looking into the new situation with Omicron.

Effective November 29, non-US citizens who have residency in South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Mozambique and Malawi up to 14 days prior to travel may not cross the US border.