On Wednesday, April 21, the men’s and women’s soccer tournament groups for the Tokyo Olympics will be decided. 16 men’s and 12 women’s teams will participate in the competition. The matches will take place from July 22 to August 8.

It should be noted that during the Olympic football tournament, the men’s teams were mainly under-23 players. Each team can have a maximum of three players of any age. This rule does not apply in the women’s tournament where the senior teams compete. Germany (women) and Brazil (men) won the 31st Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. Wednesday’s draw was hosted by Jaime Yarza, Director of the FIFA Championship, and Saray Barman, President of FIFA Women’s Football. They were assisted by Lindsay Tarpley, a member of the US women’s national team and two-time Olympic gold medalist, and Ryan Nielsen, captain of the New Zealand team at the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

The tournament will follow the traditional order. First, the group stage will be held, followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and bronze and gold medal matches. The men’s teams were divided into four groups of four, and the women’s teams into three groups of four representations. The meetings will be held in 7 stadiums. The women’s final will be held at the Tokyo Olympic Stadium and the men’s final at the Nissan Stadium in Yokohama. In the case of the women’s part of the tournament, Group G looks very good, with the Americans having a chance for a second match against the Swedes, who were knocked out in the quarter-finals of the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. As far as men are concerned, the duel in Group D between Brazil and Germany, who have qualified as finalists 5 years ago, seems to be the most interesting.

See also  Hubert Hurkacz before the challenge in Madrid. Rafael Nadal is back

Division into groups in the men’s tournament:

Group A: Japan, South Africa, Mexico and France
Group B: New Zealand, South Korea, Honduras and Romania
Group C: Egypt, Spain, Argentina, Australia
Group D: Brazil, Germany, Ivory Coast, Saudi Arabia

Division into groups in the women’s tournament:

Group E: Japan, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Chile
Group F: China, Brazil, Zambia, Netherlands
Group G: Sweden, the United States, Australia and New Zealand

Source: FIFA

So our weevil is rotten

A final year student in masters studies in the field of international relations. My main interests are sports, politics, conflict, music and cinema. Post sports information on the portal.