Yates attacked at the end of the mountain stage of the top four and finished 15 seconds ahead of his rivals. Australian Guy Hindley (Bora Hansgrohe) finished second, Carapaz third and Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Italian two-time Giro d’Italia winner, finished fourth.

He attacked the famous “Shark of Messina” at the end to fight for a stage win on his last start to the race, but he did not manage to lose his opponents.

Spaniard Juan Pedro Lopez (Trek Segafredo), who held the overall lead for ten days, reached the finish line in 10th place, more than four minutes behind the winner.

The short stage, just 147km long, but difficult to play in the heat, pushed the chances of French fifth Guillaume Martin (Covides) and Spain’s veteran Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), while Dutchman Giro d’Italia won 2017. Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo-Visma) withdrew from the race. who complained of back pain.

Carabaz was also included in the list of Giro winners. He was the highest scorer on the podium in 2019. The Ecuadorean will fight for a second win in this race, but so far in the overall standings, he is only seven seconds ahead of Hindley, with whom he lost the battle for second place and a higher reward in Turin. The Portuguese Joao Almeida (UAE) came in third, half a minute behind. The winner of last year’s Tour de Bologna reached the finish line 24 seconds later than Carabaza, Hindley and Nepali.

Simon Yates was delighted on Saturday with his sixth victory at the Giro d’Italia and his second at this year’s edition. Before that, he was the best at a one-on-one trial in Budapest.

See also  last chance! Is it broken and defeated Alzmrzlik?

1. Simon Yates (Great Britain/BikeExchange) – 3:43.44

2. Jay Hindley (Australia / Bora Hansgrohe) 15 seconds

3 – Richard Carapaz (Ecuador / Ineos Grenadiers)

4. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) same time

5 – Domenico Pozovovo (Italy / Intermarche – Wantte – Jubert) 28

6- Joao Almeida (Portugal / UAE) 39

7. Mikel Landa (Spain / Bahrain victorious) 51

8. Belo Bilbao (Spain / Bahrain victorious) same time

9- Emmanuel Buchmann (Germany / Bora – Hansgrohe) 1.10

10- Juan Pedro Lopez (Spain / Trek Segafredo) 4.25

105- Cesar Benedetti (Poland / Bora – Hansgrohe)

1. Richard Carapaz (Ecuador / Ineos Grenadiers) – 58: 21.28

2. Jay Hindley (Australia / Bora – Hansgrohe) 7 am

3. Joao Almeida (Portugal / UAE) 30

4. Mikel Landa (Spain / Bahrain victorious) 59

5. Domenico Pozovovo (Italy / Intermarche – Wantte – Jubert) 1.01

6. Belo Bilbao (Spain / Bahrain victor) 1.52

7. Emmanuel Buchmann (Germany / Bora – Hansgrohe) 1.58

8- Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) 2.58

9 – Juan Pedro Lopez (Spain / Trek Segafredo) 4.04

10- Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) 9.06

124- Cesar Benedetti (Polska / Bora – Hansgrohe) 2:45.56