Sunderland’s historic Royalty Theatre is to stage a production of Sleeping Beauty as its festive pantomime this season.

Norman Robbins’ sparkling new version of this time-honoured fable recounts the tale Princess Aurora, who, cursed by the wicked fairy Carabosse, sleeps for a hundred years until awoken with a kiss by a handsome young prince. Good fairy Azuriel, court jester Tickles, Dame Amonia Goodbody, and hilarious heralds Shout and Bawl, face a race against time to save the Princess, and ensure her happy ending with dashing Prince Valiant.

The show will begin December 6th 2012, and will run for twelve performances, ending December 16th. The Royalty Theatre’s pantomimes are an incredibly popular lower cost option in the region’s festive calendar, and with tickets persistently selling out very quickly.

Renowned for providing an evening of excellent live entertainment in a friendly, intimate atmosphere, The Royalty Theatre boasts comfortable seating, a fully stocked bar and excellent value for money. The Royalty Theatre is the only venue in the city of Sunderland providing regular dramatic productions, staging seven productions each season since it’s opening in 1925. Their production of Macbeth last year was watched by Shakespeare devotee and acting legend Sir Ian McKellen.

All tickets for forthcoming productions are available to buy online from www.royaltytheatre.co.uk. They are also available from the Tourist Information Centre Sunderland (0191 553 2000) and can be purchased from our Box Office at the theatre on the night of the performance.

Performance Dates:

Thu 6th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Fri 7th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Sat 8th Dec 2012, 2.15pm

Sat 8th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Sun 9th Dec 2012, 2.15pm

Tue 11th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Wed 12th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Thu 13th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Fri 14th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Sat 15th Dec 2012, 2.15pm

Sat 15th Dec 2012, 7.15pm

Sun 16th Dec 2012, 2.15pm