The political system of Great Britain is a parliamentary monarchy, which includes a ministerial council and a parliamentary system. In addition, what distinguishes the British political system is the two-party system and the shadow government work associated with it.

The British Parliament is made up of three important organs in the country: the House of Commons, which is the House of Representatives, and the House of Lords, which is the Senate and the King (currently Queen Elizabeth II). The numerical composition of the House of Commons is variable and depends on the number of individual constituencies.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is currently divided into 650 geographical constituencies, of which 553 are in England, 59 in Scotland, 40 in Wales and 18 in Northern Ireland. There is an average of one electoral district for a population of 69,000, and county boundaries are corrected on average once every 10 years. Only one member of the House of Commons enters from each electoral district.