The winner was seven seconds ahead of Dutchman Thaymin Arinsmann (Team DSM). Australian Jay Hindley (Bora Hansgrohe) finished third with a loss of 1.24, followed by Carapaz.

Thanks to his bonus, Hindley cut the loss against the Ecuadorean to three seconds. Both, in turn, consolidated their superiority over Portugal’s Joao Almeida, who is third in the overall standings (UAE Emirates team), who lost 14 seconds in April.

After the rest day, cyclists waited for a particularly challenging stage, with four demanding climbs and the Giro’s biggest increase in altitude this year (5268 metres). Before the start of the first race – Goletto di Cadino – a separation of 21 people formed, and none of the race favorites were there. During the successive ascent, the leaders melted away, and in the end only Hurt and Arinsmann remained at the front. The Czechs were the first to reach the last peak on the road – Santa Cristina and with a 15-second lead over the Dutchman, he began the descent to the finish line. He risked a lot, but it paid off, because at the age of 31 he was happy with success in life.

“Every time I hear about Mortirolo (the driveway on theater road) I want to run away. There have been hard times. On the last climb, I had a problem with my bike, the chain wore off. Then I had cramps while descending. I had all these problems, but I wanted to Just fight to the end “- said the famous” Janek “, who moved to ninth place in the general classification.

See also  Man United's duo Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Mike Phelan's disturbing behavior suggests their end is near | Football sport

Hurt, known to Polish fans, scored his fifth victory in his career, but for the first time in an event in this order. In 2016, he won the stage and the entire Tour of Austria, and this season he won the Tour of Oman stage and the general classification.

In 2015-2017 he raced in the colors of CCC Sprandi Polkowice, and in the 2020 season in the CCC team, which was her time in the elite.

Wyniki 16. etapu, Salo - Aprica (202 km):

 1. Jan Hirt (Czechy/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert)      - 5:40.45
 2. Thymen Arensman (Holandia/Team DSM)              strata 7 s
 3. Jai Hindley (Australia/Bora-Hansgrohe)               1.24
 4. Richard Carapaz (Ekwador/Ineos Grenadiers)
 5. Alejandro Valverde (Hiszpania/Movistar)
 6. Mikel Landa (Hiszpania/Bahrain Victorious)     ten sam czas
 7. Lennard Kaemna (Niemcy/Bora-Hansgrohe)               1.38
 8. Joao Almeida (Portugalia/UAE Team Emirates)    ten sam czas
 9. Vincenzo Nibali (Włochy/Astana)                      2.06
10. Hugh Carthy (Wielka Brytania/EF Education-EasyPost)  2.13
129. Cesare Benedetti (Polska/Bora-Hansgrohe)           48.14 

Klasyfikacja generalna:

 1. Richard Carapaz (Ekwador/Ineos Grenadiers)     - 68:49.06
 2. Jai Hindley (Australia/Bora-Hansgrohe)                  3 s
 3. Joao Almeida (Portugalia/UAE Team Emirates)            44
 4. Mikel Landa (Hiszpania/Bahrain Victorious)             59
 5. Vincenzo Nibali (Włochy/Astana)                      3.40
 6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Włochy/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert) 3.48
 7. Pello Bilbao (Hiszpania/Bahrain Victorious)          3.51
 8. Emanuel Buchmann (Niemcy/Bora-Hansgrohe)             4.45
 9. Jan Hirt (Czechy/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert)           7.42
10. Alejandro Valverde (Hiszpania/Movistar)              9.04
123. Cesare Benedetti (Polska/Bora-Hansgrohe)         3:57.19