This was the second mountain stage in a row during which the peloton allowed a multi-person breakout and one of its members won. The advantage was several minutes, but none of the daredevils threatened the general rating leaders. The last climb to the finish line was 10.5 km, and four riders remained in the lead: George Bennett, Gianluca Brambella, Christopher Hamilton and Vendrami.

The quartet split into a married couple and the fate of victory was decided by Vendram and Hamilton. The Italian turned out to be much faster. Brambilla was very dissatisfied, and later blamed Bennett’s defeat. The New Zealander did not seem enthusiastic about working at the top when Vendrame and Hamilton moved away from their rivals. – Maybe it’s better to watch the races on TV to see how to do it? Brambilla said maliciously.

In the peloton, during the last climb, the riders of the Trek-Segafredo group – Giulio Ciccone and Vincenzo Nibali attacked. However, they failed to get away, but Nibali tried to get down again and was no longer caught this time. In the end it turned out that he only gained 7 seconds, but at the same time he showed that his form is growing. The veteran was injured before the race and suffered losses in the general standings in the first week. However, it looks like the Giro could be better in the second half. So far, he is the thirteenth, losing 4 minutes and 4 seconds

See also  Ashleigh Barty broke the Australian drought. The end of the amazing series of Barbora Krezhikova

The 198 kilometers from Ravenna to Verona is scheduled for Friday, May 21, so it is likely that the end of the race will be decided.

Winiki 12. Itapo, Siena – Bagno di Romagna (212 km):

1. Andrea Vendram (Włochy / AG2R Citroen) – 5:43.48

2. Chris Hamilton (Australia / DSM) same time

3. Gianluca Brambella (Italy / Trek Segafredo) 15sec

4. George Bennett (New Zealand / Jumbo Visma) same time

5. Giovanni Visconti (Włochy / Bardiani) 1.12

6. Jeffrey Bouchard (France / AG2R Citroen) 1.25

7. Nicolas Edet (France / Cofidis) 1.47

8. Simone Bettilli (Italy / Intermarche) same time

9. Mikkel Frolich Honoré (Dania / Dekuinnic-Quick Step) 3.00

10. Simone Ravanelli (Włochy / Androni Toys) 4.19

Maciej Bodnar (Poland / Bora-Hansgrohe) 26.05

164- Lukas Wijnowski (Poland / Kubica Asos) 27.10

See also  Solshire says Manchester United can make a statement by reaching the Carabao Cup Final

General classification:

1. Egan Bernal (Kolombia / Ineos Grenadiers) – 48: 29.23

2. Alexander Vlasov (Russia / Astana Premier Tech) 45 p.m

3. Damiano Caruso (Italy / Bahrain victor) 1.12

4. Hugh Carthy (Great Britain / EF Education-Nippo) 1.17

5. Simon Yates (Great Britain/BikeExchange) 1.22

6. Emmanuel Buchmann (Germany / Bora – Hansgrohe) 1.50

7. Remco Evenepoel (Belgia / Deceuninck-Quick Step) 2.22

8. Giulio Ciccone (Italy / Trek Segafredo) 2.24

9. Tobias Voss (Norway / Jumbo-Visma) 2.49

10. Daniel Felipe Martinez (Colombia / Ineos Grenadiers) 3.15

139. Maciej Bodnar (Polska / Bora-Hansgrohe) 2:12

151. ukasz Wiśniowski (Poland / Qhubeka Assos) 2: 20.28