American Joe Dombrowski of the Emirates Team won the fourth stage of the Giro d’Italia bike race in Sestola. He won the pink jersey of leader Alessandro de Marchi (Emerging State of Israel), who was second in the finish line in Italy.

Dombrowski held the most power out of the group of 25 fleeing passengers, leading De Marchi by 13 seconds and Italian Filippo Fiorelli (Bardiani-CSF-Vizan) by 27 seconds.

The theater, which was played in the rain on rough terrain, broke the stakes. Cyclists reached the finish line individually or in small groups, and the first favorite race – Colombian Egan Bernal, Russian Alexander Vlasov, Spaniard Mikel Landa and Britain’s Hugh Karthy – ended in losing more than a minute and a half. Britain’s Simon Yates, Belgium’s Remco Evinpool and Frenchman Roman Bardet lost 11 seconds to this group, while Australian Jay Hindley, second in the Giro last year, lost 34 seconds.

Portugal’s Joao Almeida, who lost more than four minutes to Bernal’s group, practically buried his chances in a high position.

Asukasz Wiowsniowski, Tomasz Marczy andski and Maciej Bodnar occupied faraway places again. They all completed the episode in the big set, 28 minutes behind the winner.

Dombrowski and de Marchi, the heroes of the theater, are very experienced cyclists. Both had special reasons to be content on Tuesday. The 29-year-old American, who made his elite debut for Sky Team in 2013, scored his fourth victory, but was the first in Europe and in a race of this rank. On the other hand, the Italian, on his fifth debut in Giro, wore a pink shirt for the first time. In the previous two seasons, De Marchi represented the now defunct Polish group CCC.

See also  Rally Portugal 2022: Kajitanovic and Sipaniak return to third place

Results of the fourth stage Piacenza – Sestola (187 km):

1. Joe Dombrowski (USA / UAE National Team) – 4: 58.38

2. Alessandro De Marchi (Italy / Israel Start-Up Nation), 13 seconds lost

3 – Filippo Fiorelli (Italy / Pardiani – CSF – Faizan) 27

4. Louis Vervaik (Belgium / Albacin-Phoenix) 29

5. Jan Tratnik (Slovenia / Bahrain victorious) at the same time

6. Attila Walther (Węgry / Groupama-FDJ) 44

7 – Nicolas Edet (France / Covidis) 49

8 Nelson Oliveira (Portuguese / Movistar) 57

9. Reine Taaramae (Estonia / Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert) 1.33

10. Christopher Jules Jensen (Dania / BikeExchange) 1.36

118. Wakasz Vinyowski (Poland / Qhubeka Assos) 23.06

155- Tomasz Markzynski (Poland / Lotto Soudal)

164- Maciej Bodnar (Polska / Bora-hansgrohe) at the same time

General classification:

1. Alessandro De Marchi (Italy / Emerging State of Israel) – 13:50:44

2. Joe Dombrowski (USA / UAE National Team) 22 seconds

3 – Louis Vervaik (Belgium / Alpsin-Phoenix) 42

4. Nelson Oliveira (Portuguese / Movistar) 48

5. Attila Walther (Hungary / Groupama-FDJ) 1.00

6. Nicholas Edet (France / Covidis) 1.15

7. Alexander Vlasov (Russia / Astana Premier Tech) 1.24

8. Remco Evenepoel (Belgia / Deceuninck-Quick Step) 1.28

9. Alberto Petiol (Włochy / EF Education-Nippo) 1.37

10. Hugh Karthy (UK / EF Education-Nippo) 1.38

158- Lukacs Vinyowski (Poland / Kubica ASUS) 36.20

162 Maciej Bodnar (Poland / Bora – Hansgrohe) 36.59

170 Tomasz Markzynski (Poland / Lotto Soudal) 37.33