According to the government regulation issued on December 6, the ban will be applied to production from the countries of the European Union, as well as the USA, Canada, Norway, Albania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Great Britain, Montenegro and Switzerland.

Among the goods whose importation will be prohibited from January 1, there are, among others, fresh, chilled and frozen beef, pork and poultry, offal, fats, sausages, salted, dried and smoked meats, meat meal, dairy and dairy production, vegetables, Fruits, nuts, sweets, salt, and “other goods”.

– By a decision of the government, from January 1, 2022, a ban was imposed on a wide range of food products from countries that pursue discriminatory policies and carry out hostile actions towards our country – the press service of the Belarusian government informed.

As indicated, the ban excludes products that will be imported before the ban becomes effective, single-use goods, baby food, and a number of other “vital” items. He explained that the goal was to reduce the negative impact on Belarusian citizens.

The government also announced that it would take measures to increase its production and imports from “friendly” countries.
The ban is expected to last six months. – In the event of further sabotage actions, Belarus reserves the right to expand the list of prohibited goods – this is stated.

On Thursday, the European Union approved another package of sanctions against Belarus. The restrictions consist of a ban on entry to the European Union and an asset freeze. Among them, about 30 people and entities are engaged in the suppression of civil society and the introduction of immigrants to Belarus. They are concerned, among others, by Belavia Airlines.

The United Kingdom, the United States and Canada have also announced new sanctions. On December 6, the Belarusian Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that as part of the response to the sanctions, a ban on a number of goods from the countries that imposed the sanctions will be imposed.

In addition, restrictions have been announced for airlines of the European Union and the United Kingdom, which will be “similar” to the penalties applied to Belarusian state-owned airlines.

In response to the sanctions of Western countries, the Ministry of Diplomacy also announced “the extension of the list of persons whose entry into the territory of Belarus and the Union State (Belarus and Russia) will be prohibited.”

“One of the most important steps” is “the further implementation of trade union programs and the deepening of economic integration with the Russian Federation, as well as the building of strong economic relations with partners from the Eurasian Economic Community” and the countries of Asia, Africa and Latin America. America.

“Non-public” steps have also been announced.

See also  Bosnia and Herzegovina. EMSC: an earthquake of magnitude 6 on the Richter scale